top of page

Why This is a Thing

Updated: Apr 26, 2020

If you're reading this, there's one of two reasons that I can think of:


1. You know me in person, either from high school, church, college, family, or work, and you're curious about why I would want to do this.

2. You don't have any idea who I am, but you've read my books in some format, whether on Wattpad, Radish Fiction, or in print, and it's somehow lead you here.


No matter who you are, I hope this post explains everything.


I've been writing on Wattpad for what feels like forever, but in actuality I think it's been about five years. I got popular on the website in 2016 with my multimedia novel Dear Sydney, which accumulated over 2 million reads in its first year on the platform and is currently boasting just over 2.8 million. I have multiple novels published in print and am constantly working on a new project, so I guess you could say that writing is what I really love doing.


The thing is, it's not the only thing I love doing.


I love playing instruments, whether it's piano or violin. I love singing showtunes with my sister despite having a terrible voice. I love doing my makeup when I'm going out, and I love getting my hair done to keep it blonde. I love reading, and editing, and finishing a really great workout so I can go home and pretend that I'm noticing a difference in the flatness of my stomach when I look in the mirror. I love discussing and reading about powerful women who carry the world on their shoulders, and I love my Political Science major. I love my religion and God and my Savior, and not just because I grew up in a very faith-centered home. I love spending time with my friends and family, and forcing my boyfriend to watch Friends with me on Netflix until he too can quote the entire show.


The thing is, I'm always bursting to talk to people about the things that I love. But I feel like not everyone wants to hear about everything that I love all the time. So for the past few years, I've grappled with the idea of starting a blog like this. I considered doing it anonymously to avoid judgement. But, (as you'll read about if you check out the "About" page of this site) I've been reading this book that my mom lent me recently by Rachel Hollis. It's called Girl, Wash Your Face and it's one of the best books I've ever read. I was laying out by the pool and reading this book, and one chapter hit me particularly hard. Hollis talks about doing what you want to do without worrying about what other people will think, or the judgement you may get. She talks about how if she had worried about the thoughts of other people, she wouldn't be where she is today.


So, I finally did it. I decided to get over my fear of ridicule and just make the blog. The blog where I can talk about anything I want, because...well, it's my blog. And if people want to read it, then great! That puts me over the moon. But if they don't? Then...they don't have to.


I'm also combining it to incorporate things about my books, both in print and on the online platforms I write on. I hope that I will soon be able to add this blog to the list of things that I love, and I hope that it can be a source of something--laughter, peace, even mind-boggling boredom--to someone.


(Also, the name is a stupid pun but it has two parts: 1. I'm an author, so...bookshelf. And 2. I say a lot that I try to be as self-aware as possible. So, shelf awareness it is.)


So hey! I'm Katherine, and this is my new blog.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page