top of page

Getting Out of This Slump

It's become pretty easy for me to fall into slumps lately, whether it's with writing, work, social life, or just life in general. My current slump that I'm trying to get out of involves the last one. There is so much going on, and so much I have to put time and energy into right now and in the next two months. My entire life is going to change completely with a cross-country move, leaving my job, and starting law school. And it turns out there is a lot that goes into moving across the country.


One way I'm going to try and get out of this slump is to write through it. Writing things out helps my mind to declutter in real time, and helps me not feel so overwhelmed by everything. I may never post this, or I might post it tonight. I haven't decided yet. I just know that I need to write something down.


The knowledge that I'm starting a new chapter in my life has been bittersweet. I'm excited beyond measure about starting law school on the east coast, closer to my parents. I'm excited to meet new people and have new experiences. I'm excited to start my journey to becoming a lawyer and creating the career I want.


I'm also sad. I think I've been downplaying just how sad I am. I love my job. I love my life. I love my friends and my roommates and my routine. I've been in Utah for almost six years now, and in the past two years I've built this entire adult life after graduating from college. I have a job I love in an office that could not have better coworkers or bosses. I work in the coolest building in the entire state, I get to go on exciting excursions and have these random but incredible experiences that I won't get anywhere else. And knowing that I'm leaving all of that is terrifying.


But it's what I need to do. Change is hard and scary and not something I particularly enjoy. It's going to be sad to leave everything here, but I can visit. I still have siblings out here who I'm sure I will want to see at some point or another. :)


So, here's me getting out of this mindset slump. I'm sad to leave my life here, but I still have two more months to give it all I've got. I'm excited to start a new chapter back east and take on new challenges. And there's nothing wrong with those two feelings existing together.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page