top of page

My Evening Routine

I did a post about the importance of having a morning routine, but nighttime routines are almost more important to me. Almost. They're probably on the same plane. And during this time when we're all quarantined and have nowhere to go, I don't really have an excuse not to do my evening routine every night. So, here it is: my evening routine and why I think every part of it is important.


1. Skincare Routine





(Please don't come at me for this, I'm not a skincare expert, I just do what works for me!)


Just like in the morning, I have my evening skincare routine. I'll try and link to all of the products I use in case you want to check them out, or if you struggle with some of the same skin issues that I do! First up is taking off my makeup if I bothered to wear any that day--which has been very minimal during quarantine. But after that, I use a CVS knock-off of the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash...and it's exfoliating, which I absolutely love. After I wash it off, I set a timer for two minutes. I do this in-between every skincare item I use so that the different products can have time to actually work into my skin before I start on the next one. After the timer ends, I use Thayer's Witch Hazel Toner (the unscented kind...I don't like the way the other ones smell) and the INKEY List Caffeine Eye Cream.


Set the timer for 2 minutes.


Next up: the Valjean Labs Glow Facial Serum with Vitamin C & Magnesium.


Set the timer for 2 minutes.


Next up is the Pond's Facial Moisturizer. I apply this to my face and neck, and apply extra to any dry patches that pop up, especially when I'm living in Utah.


Set the timer for 2 minutes.


Because I still get acne, the last part of my skincare routine is the Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10 Acne Medication. I apply this to any spots that I know are problem areas on my face, and to any blemishes that have popped up.


So that's the skincare part! On to the next...


2. Reading My Scriptures


Now this part is because I'm religious. If you're not religious, I would suggest reading something before bed. A physical copy of a book, since staring at your phone before going to bed isn't too smart. I'm a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and I usually try to study a chapter of the Book of Mormon before going to bed every night. It helps me to feel at peace. Again, if you're not religious and/or don't have a religious text, I would highly recommend reading a chapter of something before going to bed at night. It's a good way to end the day, and honestly can help to make even the most unproductive days feel a little bit better.


3. Journaling


I am not the best at journaling, but I am trying my hardest to incorporate it into my evening routine. I write about my day, things I want to rant about, or anything really. Then, at the end, I like to do a 'Today's Top Three,' a list of the three most memorable/best things about the day. I try to write in my journal every night, but it usually ends up being every other night instead.


4. Recording the Day





I like to use different things to track my productivity, and I'm also a type A personality, so I have a lot of different notebooks and spreadsheets to keep myself on task every day. So, every night, I go through things that I want to record for the day. First up is my habit tracker, which I want to do an entire blog post about in the near future, because I absolutely love it. I check off every habit that I accomplished that day. Then, I have a spreadsheet to keep track of my workouts every day. I make sure that that's updated for the day, and that my spreadsheet tracking the progress of each of my books is updated for the day's work as well.


5. Bed!


Then, it's off to bed. I hope you enjoyed this blog post and maybe got something out of it! Let me know your thoughts on it, and if you have anything different/cool that you do for your own evening routine.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page