top of page

January Favorites

So I've seen this done a lot and no one probably cares about these things but I'm going to write them anyways? Because honestly I'm just writing all of this stuff on here for myself and if you want to read it then I'm glad and if you don't then no one's forcing you to. Unless you're my mom. Because that would be rude if you didn't read these.


Anyways, I thought I would (try and) share a list of my favorite things every month, like books and TV shows and podcasts and all that jazz. And then I would obviously describe all of them so that if you want to find a new thing, you can see if something I suggest is something you would enjoy! So here is my list of favorites starting off January...and 2020.


(And! There's links to everything embedded in the titles of the different favorites, if you want to check any of them out for yourself.)



If you haven't read this book yet, you are seriously missing out. It's by Rachel Hollis, an insane businesswoman and motivational speaker (and author!) who is no-nonsense and makes everything make sense. The book is about finding motivation to do hard things and about living your absolute best life in whatever way that means to you, unashamed and proud of who you are.


Movie: Charlie's Angels (2019)


Okay I know lots of people didn't like this movie, but I thought it was great. Kristen Stewart was hilarious, Elizabeth Banks was great, and everything in the movie went together really well. Huge girl-power theme, and you leave the theater feeling like you can do anything. Highly recommend.


TV Show: The Good Wife


I have definitely watched six of the seven seasons in this show in the past month and a half. It is so good. My parents told me about it, actually, and it's one of my favorite shows now. It's about Alicia Florrick, a high-powered attorney who goes back to practicing law after thirteen years of raising her kids after her State's Attorney husband's sex scandal lands him in prison. It has so many amazing guest stars and the main actors are all great. Plus, Logan from Gilmore Girls is in it and he is too attractive for words.


Podcast: RISE Podcast


Another Rachel Hollis plug. Same woman who wrote Girl, Wash Your Face has this RISE Podcast and it's full of inspirational, motivational episodes that will definitely make you feel like you need to get your life on track. I love it.



I made these every night for the last two weeks before winter break when I was at school. They're so good, and are literally just enchiladas but in a hollowed-out zucchini. Put some sour cream on the side and some shredded cheese on top, and viola, the best thing you'll taste all week.


Song: "Vienna" (Cover by Ben Platt)


If you haven't seen the Netflix show The Politician, you're seriously missing out. Ben Platt stars in it and has a phenomenal voice, and this song is one he sings in the last episode of the series. It's on Spotify and iTunes and everything, and I know Billy Joel did it first and he's great, but Ben Platt's voice just melts me.


Artist: Lizzo


Are you noticing a theme here? (The theme is female empowerment) Lizzo is my favorite artist right now, because she is everything: great voice, great music, great message, and seems like the perfect person to go out with if you need a pep talk. All of her songs are great, but I've definitely been listening to "Heaven Help Me" more often than anything else recently.


Quote: “The power you have is to be the best version of yourself you can be, so you can create a better world.” -Ashley Rickards

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


Love the girl empowerment. Lizzo is great I love her 💪

Me gusta
bottom of page