top of page

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Ok, so in 2022, I want to make it a point to read for pleasure more. I thought it would be fun to do mini book reviews for the books that I read, and we're gonna start with the three books that I read in the last week and a half of 2021!


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins-Reid may be my new favorite book. It is so well-written, and the entire premise was unique. Did I gasp out loud on a plane towards the end? Yes. Did I cry my eyes out on said plane over this book? Also yes.


I would say that there are two main characters in this book: Evelyn and Monique. And Jenkins-Reid did a phenomenal job of differentiating between both women's perspectives without it feeling forced. There was no need to directly tell the reader when the point of view was being switched, and as the reader, I never felt confused or unable to tell who was speaking. I loved how the story moved fluidly between Evelyn's past and Monique's present, and how the two women come to understand each other throughout.


I think one of my favorite parts of this book was Evelyn's perspective on life. These quips from her would come when we were reading the book in Monique's point of view, when she's speaking with present-day Evelyn. The woman was so wise and so perfectly at peace with herself, even though she knew that she was flawed. She knew that she had made some terrible mistakes in her life, but she was also perfectly capable of sitting with those mistakes. She didn't try to cover them up or sugarcoat them. It was a very raw, fresh perspective to see a woman who was so secure in who she was.


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo gets five stars from me, and if it doesn't get turned into a movie within the next year, it'll be a felony.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page