top of page

Book Review: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

After this one, I need to take a break from books that make me bawl my eyes out. I had to sit in bed staring at the wall for thirty minutes after finishing this to process.


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab follows Addie LaRue, a young woman cursed at the age of 23 to never age and never die. Along with this, her curse causes her to not be remembered by anyone once she leaves the room they're in, and not be able to leave a physical mark in the world.


I'm not going to lie, I almost stopped reading this one. It has a very slow beginning, and I was bored up until page 150, easily. But I had heard such good things about the book, so I kept going. And I'm glad that I did!


The second that Henry entered the picture, I became much more invested. He was a likeable character, and the mystery of why he could remember Addie was something I needed to know the answer to. The ending tore my heart out, but I thought that it might have been one of the best endings of a book that I've read recently.


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue gets 4 stars from me. I took off one star solely because of the slow beginning, but honestly, the ending almost made up for that lost star.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page