top of page

Book Review: The Hating Game

The first book I read in 2022! (I'm a little late to the review.) The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is a witty, surprising rom-com of a book that I found myself kind of in love with. I may or may not have rented the movie adaptation the second I realized that one existed in the first place. Obviously, movies are never as good as books, but I think the casting of both Lucy and Josh was excellent.


But, back to the book.


I'm slightly ashamed to admit that I was unhealthily obsessed with this book for a solid week after finishing it. I don't know if it was just because of the enemies-to-lovers trope, or the slowwwww slow burn between Lucy and Josh, or what...but this book was great. It kept me engaged without spending too much time on one subject or idea. I felt like the characters were well-written, and they were both also characters I could find myself relating to...Lucy more so than Josh, admittedly.


I feel like it captured a lot of the enemies-to-lovers trope requirements that we see often, but still managed to be surprising while using a tried-and-true method and story premise. It makes me want an insufferable, but ridiculously attractive, coworker.


The Hating Game gets 5 stars from me!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page