top of page

5 At-Home Workouts to Try in Quarantine

Alright, so I've been back in Maryland for over a month, and here is the next installment of my quarantine chronicles.


One thing that I started to become really invested in while at school was the gym. And not because I wanted to lose weight--more so because I wanted to gain weight. In muscle. I wanted to get jacked, obviously.


So I'd been working out quite a bit before the coronavirus uprooted all of our lives. Since my gym out at school closed and I moved back home for a little while, I've been doing some at-home workouts in my room. I've been trying to do them six times a week, but have also been cutting myself a lot of slack.


I've seen a lot of posts on social media about how "we shouldn't be focusing on getting thinner during a pandemic" and all of that. And I wanted to make a disclaimer that this post is not about that. This post is for anyone else who, like me, was disappointed about losing progress at the gym during these times, and who wants to continue to try and get stronger while we're all stuck at home.


So, here are a few of my at-home workouts that I've been doing. Another disclaimer: I have dumbbells and resistance bands, which definitely help out.


A good thing to download is the Gymshark app. I used it at the gym and I've been using it at home--it's great for tracking your workouts and tracking your progress. They have some free at-home workouts for you to do during these times, and they also have the option for you to create your own custom workouts and track them. I opt for the latter usually, but I think I might try one of their pre-set at-home workouts this week.


So, below is just a short list of a few different muscle groups and the exercises I've been doing to target them at home.

 

BICEPS/BACK:

- Dumbbell bent over rows: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Single arm rows: 4 sets (2 each arm), 10 reps per set

- Alternating bicep curls: 2 sets, 10 reps per set

- Concentration curls: 4 sets (2 each arm), 10 reps per set

- Hammer curls: 2 sets, 10 reps per set


LEGS:

- Squats: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell goblet squats: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Deadlift: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Side lunges: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Romanian deadlift: 2 sets, 10 reps per set


TRICEPS/CHEST:

- Overhead dumbbell extensions: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell bench press: 2 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell flys: 2 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell overhead press: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell skull crushers: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Tricep kickbacks: 4 sets (2 each arm), 10 reps per set


GLUTES:

- Squats: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Dumbbell hip thrusts: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Donkey kickbacks: 4 sets (2 per leg), 10 reps per set

- Glute bridges: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Side step squats: 3 sets, 10 reps per set


ABS:

- Bicycle crunches: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Leg raises: 2 sets, 10 reps per set

- Plank: 2 sets, 30 seconds per set

- Side plank lifts: 4 sets (2 per side), 10 reps per set

- Single leg raises: 4 sets (2 per leg), 10 reps per set

- Toe touches: 3 sets, 10 reps per set

- Weighted Russian twists: 2 sets, 10 reps per set

 

So these obviously aren't all-encompassing, and it's difficult to do some workouts at home right now. But I hope that they give someone something new to try, and maybe something to do during this time when we're all stuck inside.


Let me know if this was interesting, and feel free to share your own workouts! I'm always looking to try new things and change up my routines.


(Also, this is slightly embarrassing, but Tik Tok is not a terrible place to find new workout ideas. Just FYI.)


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page