top of page

The Beginning of Querying and Conquering My Fears

So, I've self-published a lot of books. I started self-publishing when I was 12 years old, which means I've spent almost half of my life as a self-published author. It fits my personality--I like having control over the cover, and the summary, and the marketing and everything that goes with it. But, since I was a kid, I've wanted to be traditionally published.


At the beginning of my freshman year of college, I looked into getting an agent. I didn't actually send anything out, but I researched the process. I was 18, an adult, I could get an agent. But then college became a lot, and I started a part-time job while going to school, and joined my university's orchestra, and on and on and on.


I didn't want to throw the dream away. So, I told myself that when I graduated from college, I would get an agent. I would get an agent and try to get published in the traditional way.


Well, I graduated from college nine and a half months ago. I'd say I'm decently adjusted into my new life with a full-time job and no school or homework to keep me up late. So, it's time. I'm going to go for it. Finally. And, just so I can't bail or make excuses, I'm going to be posting about it on this blog. So, here it is: the first of the querying adventure posts.


Right now, it's not too much fun. I printed out Treadmill so that I have a physical page to look at and edit, and that's what I'm doing. I've gone through eight chapters so far, and it's kind of incredible how much detail I put into the beginning of this book that was forgotten about by the time the accident comes around. Rebecca's a graphic design minor, Kennedy has this mysterious scar along her ribcage, Rebecca has an older sister and a baby niece? Catch me throwing all of those details back in there on this rewrite.


So, yeah. Right now, the stage we're at is just editing this manuscript to get it ready for a potential agent's eyes. And we're going to be documenting it as we go!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page